Reliving the Rascals

SoHo HouseThis past weekend to celebrate the birthday of the fabulous cake lady of Flour Shop, we watched a movie in the screening room at the SoHo House (how posh). The featured film was probably the second most-watched movie of my childhood (after “The Little Mermaid”), “The Little Rascals.”

I guess my taste hasn’t evolved much because I still thoroughly enjoy this movie. It has all the components of a best picture winner, and was clearly robbed at the 1994 Oscars. Was “Forrest Gump” really that good? Since it’s award season, I think it’s appropriate to break down a few cinematic elements.

MSDLIRA EC008Great one-liners:

“Finders keepers, losers suck”

“We are he-man woman haters. We feed girls to alligators”

Then the clouds opened up and God said, “I hate you, Alfalfa!”

A slutty leading lady in a love triangle:

tumblr_lu1cd5VmlI1qa5ui1o6_250“But you’re my boy toy!”

“He makes me melt like a Popsicle on the fourth of July.”

tumblr_lshiz0SsFC1qhphz2o1_500

tumblr_mqouk7xjyH1ret9yto1_500And if this doesn’t convince you, here’s Darla is all grown up:

little-rascals-then-now-11.jpg?w=500&h=375little-rascal-smile-oCross dressing:

tumblr_m4z7rkeM7D1rwcc6bo1_500Jared Leto is getting a lot of buzz for his work in “Dallas Buyers Club” this year, but Spanky and Alfalfa were way ahead of the game.

tumblr_mccwwj073z1r317bvo1_500“Hello again you stud-muffins, going my way?” – Spanky

Celebrity cameos:

Reba, Whoopie Goldberg and Donald Trump – that’s the dream team.

Sexual innuendos involving children:

"Is that a cowlick, or are you just glad to see me?"

“Is that a cowlick, or are you just glad to see me?”

tumblr_mb1cscOxch1qefo74o1_500Little Rascals then and now

Leave a Reply

