MY most influential people

TIME announced their 100 Most Influential People list today, and they have some cool people on it like Jay-Z and Mindy Kaling. But I really can’t imagine that Mindy Kaling is one of the most influential people in the world. I mean, The Mindy Project is funny but come on. Also, Jennifer Lawrence has only been super popular for like 2 days. It looks to me like TIME is just trying to be trendy.

art 30.tif

But who cares about who influences the world anyway. I’d like to share the top 10 women who helped shape ME.

10. Angelica from Rugrats:

Angelica taught me how to run the world

Bossing around babies like a boss

Bossing around babies like a boss

The price you pay for being awesome

The price you pay for being awesome

And I think she is subconsciously the reason I love donuts a little too much.

angelicaeatingcookies

9. Winnie from “The Wonder Years”

Winnie was so cool and pretty even though she was skinny-fat, and had awesome bangs.

tumblr_lu29v8WXEM1r4z5hmo1_500She also had Kevin obsessed with her for like 20 years despite this look:

WONDER_YEARS_01

8. Amanda Bynes

This may be where some of my imperfections stem from…but back in her “All That” and “Amanda Show” days, she seemed like a worthy role model.

Amanda-manda-manda-manda-manda

Amanda-manda-manda-manda-manda

Whatever, She’s the Man was funny

she3

7. Cher Horowitz

I went to Catholic school, so I didn’t know any Jews growing up – all I knew was that according to Clueless, they’re fabulous. Cher’s wise words are still useful to me in everyday life, like, “She’s a full-on Monet…. From far away, it’s OK, but up close, it’s a big old mess.” And “It does not say RSVP on the Statue of Liberty.”

clueless-pic1Most importantly she showed me I can get out of gym class

Cher_Horowitz_Closet-014_2

6. Melissa Joan Hart

Cher was fab, but Clarissa explained it all. Not only was MJH cool and witty in “Clarissa Explains” it all, which had the best opening credits, but then she became a witch.

I obvi was jealous of Sabrina because she was magical and could have actual conversations with her cat. Also, her aunts were the best parents ever – I kind of had a weird girl crush on Zelda.

tumblr_mi7dsvn8eJ1qb75x2o1_500

5. Spice Girls

I don’t know that I learned too many life lessons from the Spice girls, besides British is better and that I definitely want to zigazig-ah.

Spice+Girls

But they did teach me a lot about fashion.

127_529869814571_4420_n

4. Jewel

jewel3-777838

Jewel was my downtime music. Every 10 year old needs some time to close the door throw on some Jewel and meditate for a while. There’s only so much Hanson music one can take after a long day of being humiliated in relay basketball at gym. Jewel expanded my vocabulary and showed me you can still be famous even if you’ve never had braces.

3. Britney Spears/Christina Aguilera

Frenemies

Frenemies

I lumped them together because they both taught me a similar lesson: If you want to be a pop star (which I do), get a flat stomach.

285911_oI already had the uniform though.

2. Gwen Stefani

NO-DOUBT-1Gwen was and still is the queen of all that is cool. She mastered angry girl music without being kind of scraggly and gross like Alanis.

1. All Disney Princesses

Untitled-1Above all, I strive to be classy and beautiful like a cartoon.

3 thoughts on “MY most influential people

Leave a Reply

