‘Crazy, Stupid, Love’-ed it

As my weak attempt at word play implies, I finally saw Crazy, Stupid, Love. I had been wanting to see it for a long time, but I’m too lazy to go to Red Box and too dumb to figure out how to buy movies on TV. Luckily I got it for my birthday this week, and equally as luckily, I have no life so I had time to watch it by myself last night. Evening well spent.

Unlikely besties

First and foremost, my boyfriend, Ryan Gosling, stars in it and he was getting kind of mad that I hadn’t seen it yet. I didn’t tell him this, but his character doesn’t really make sense. I don’t know if he’s supposed to be Jewish or a New Yorker or what, but he talks weird. Also, they never say what he does for a living besides buy things on the Home Shopping Network, yet he’s super rich and well-groomed at all times. His other past times include womanizing, eating Sbarros pizza and hanging out with sad middle-aged men. But he’s really just lonely and ridiculously pretty because his mom is a bitch.

Also, it’s very unrealistic that he would ever go for cartoon-face Emma Stone. Good for her, though, at least she got to make out with a hot actor before settling down with Toby Maguire’s understudy. Even more unrealistic is the fact that, at first, Emma actually entertains the idea of staying with her boyfriend, Josh Groban, over Ryan Gosling. In what world, woman?

So it’s another one of those six-degrees-of-Kevin-Bacon movies where everyone ends up connected in some way at the end. And appropriately enough, Kevin Bacon is actually in the movie. He gets hilariously beat up by three men at the same time. Steve Carell is at the center of the narrative and he’s great as usual.

Every movie should have a “let’s beat up Kevin Bacon” scene.

The movie shows us the universal struggles of love through multi-generational characters – very cute. The 13-year-old son loves the babysitter, the babysitter (who was on America’s Next Top Model) loves the dad, the dad loves the mom, the mom loves Kevin Bacon, the dad screws over Marisa Tomei, Emma Stone finally dumps Josh Groban for Ry Guy, the sassy Asian friend ends up alone and so on and so on…. Hope I didn’t give it all away (I didn’t).

If you haven’t seen it and you’re in the mood for a feel-good movie that makes you laugh and cry, this is a good bet. Except you probably won’t cry because it’s not really that sad, I’m just a loser.

5 thoughts on “‘Crazy, Stupid, Love’-ed it

  1. Pingback: “Crazy, Stupid, Love”: Picking up hot chicks the Carell-Gosling way… « Radu presents: The Movie-Photo Blog

  2. Pingback: “Crazy, Stupid, Love”: Picking up hot chicks the Carell-Gosling way… | Radu Ștefan prezintă: Blogu' de filme

Leave a Reply

