‘Wanderlust’: I cried

"What is it?" "Sticks with orange peels glued to them."

No, I didn’t cry because it’s sad or even because I had to see really nasty naked bodies. I cried because it’s just hilarious. “Wanderlust” didn’t do very well opening weekend, and to be honest I wasn’t all that interested in seeing it. I was imagining it would be something similar to “Couples Retreat,” but I should have known Paul Rudd wouldn’t stray from his usual genre of ridiculously stupid (but awesome) movies.

Jennifer Aniston and Paul Rudd play a really cute and believable couple from NYC. When Paul loses his job, they are forced to move in with his horrible brother in Atlanta, but living with the brother is so bad that they instead move into a nearby hippie commune where there are no doors allowed.

The best part of the movie is all the different characters and their one-liners – like Seth, the leader of the group, who thinks Jen and Paul need to be free of their life of two-way pagers and the Arsenio Hall Show. There are some really gross scenes including a stampede of old nudists and a way-too-long scene of Paul Rudd standing in front of a mirror amping himself up to have sex (painful to watch). But once I faced the fact that it’s just a raunchy movie, I couldn’t stop laughing. One of the best underrated characters in the movie is the wife of Paul Rudd’s brother played by Michaela Watkins. She plays a miserable, medicated trophy wife who just wants a divorce and to be on Real Housewives of Atlanta.

"I have mixed feelings about being a parent"

There’s really not all that much I can say about the movie because the writing and the acting is what makes it. The plot is pretty simple and I can’t say I found any deep spiritual enlightenment while watching it – although I was introduced to a “less aggressive” form of clapping. Anyway, if you like most Paul Rudd movies, go see this one because it will make you pee your pants.

Leave a Reply

