All I want for Christmas is Mariah Carey’s success

Mariah Carey’s “All I want for Christmas” is obviously a staple every Christmas (or just all year-round if you’re my cousin Caitlin), but for the past few days I have found myself hearing it and talking about it way more than normal.

- All I want for Christmas is rainbows and butterflies and a Nickelodeon child actor -

The one thing I wasn’t aware of though, is that people are starting to cover it now. It’s too soon to cover that song, and nobody can do it like Mariah can do it. I know this because I have no voice right now from trying to do it like Mariah can do it all weekend. But I’ll humor the effort:

Michael Buble version:

Pros – This slow version actually really helped me learn the lyrics better. Now I know it doesn’t go:

- I get really uncomfortable when I stand next to Justin Bieber -

“And for the rest of time it’s nobody anywhere; I hear those santa children who laugh and fill the air. The moments we let slip away, I hear those sleigh bells ringing.  Santa won’t you stay won’t you really really stay, won’t you please be my baby for me?”

It’s goes:

“And all the light are shining so brightly everywhere and the sound of children’s laughter fills the air. And everyone is singing; I hear those sleigh bells ringing. Santa won’t you bring me the one I really love (it’s actually “need,” he got confused to), won’t you please bring my baby to me?”

Cons – Doesn’t make me want to dance

Justin Bieber version:

Pros – None

Cons – It sucks; Mariah Carey stooped low enough to do this duet.

Dance Remix:

Pros – Does make me want to dance

Cons – It’s stupid


OG Mariah version:

Pros – Best Christmas song of our generation

Cons – None (except she really needs to enunciate better)

Little extra treat:

Leave a Reply

