Breaking down ‘Breaking Dawn’

- holy slit, KStew (movie premier) -

I went to go see the highly-anticipated Breaking Dawn last Sunday but had no time to write anything about it. So, unfortunately it’s not fresh in my mind anymore and I won’t be able to provide an award-winning movie review, but I’ll tell you what I thought anyway.

Overall, I was entertained and I thought they did a good job of translating the book to the screen. Key points:

Acting: It’s no secret that Kristin and Rob create the most awkward dialogue ever portrayed in a movie – is this how they talk to each other in real life? For some reason, though, I seem to always forget just how embarrassing it is to watch – maybe I block it out like a traumatic event. Given this fact, the first few scenes of the movie are painful. If you haven’t seen it yet, beware of the pre-bachelor party conversation in Bella’s room.

Wedding: I thought they did a good job with the wedding scene – it was sweet but not as sappy as I was afraid it would be. Her dress was kind of cool, but the back didn’t really match the front. The thing I liked most was that they used Iron & Wine’s “Flightless Bird” for the kiss to mirror their prom kiss in the first movie.

Sex scene: After all the commotion, the infamous sex scene was not a scandal at all. Some may have been disappointed by this, but personally I’m glad it was toned-down and tasteful. Given the violent birth scene (which I will get to in a minute), a crazy sex scene would have completely taken the movie out of line with the vibe of the series.

- Wedding (Access Hollywood) -

Birth scene: I know this scene was gruesome in the book, but I could barely watch this part of the movie. There was blood and screams and cracking bones galore. I know they wanted to portray the scene accurately, but I could have done with a little less gore. This is Twilight not Saw.

Transformation: I really liked the way they handled Bella’s transformation from human to vampire with the montage of human-life events and the shots of her getting “prettier.”

- Jacob did this a lot in the movie -

All in all I can’t complain – nobody expect Oscar-worthy performances when it comes to these movies.

Leave a Reply

