(Not) Feeling Halloweenie (part 4)

- Happy Halloween, kids -

Happy Halloween! Or for everyone fortunate enough to live in upper Fairfield County – Happy snow day. To the horror of the neighborhood children, Halloween has been canceled. An official trick-or-treating ban is in place! All children who wish to collect candy without being electrocuted by live wires in the streets are to report to the mall for the lamest trick-or-treating experience ever. Who wants to trick-or-treat at Sears?

After this weekend, it’s safe to say that snow storms in October have made my top 5 most hated things ever. Nature is a smart lady – she snows in the winter after all the leaves have fallen. But she’s been pissed off this year, so she played a Halloween trick on us and dumped 15 inches of snow on top of lush trees, and guess what. They fell. They fell on top of power lines and houses and they blocked streets and canceled Halloween parties. And the plows decided to take the day off. Cool.

- News Times -

Of course who was out and about in the middle of all of this? My family – driving to a wedding in the middle of a blizzard and almost dying. After 4 excruciating hours of skidding and waiting in traffic, we finally made it to the wedding, which was being powered by a generator. If it were me, I would have balled up in a corner and refused to get married that day, but not this bride. After off-roading in her limo and getting stuck in a ditch for an hour and a half, her reaction was “At least it’s not raining. Rain would have been much worse.” That could not be more false, but I admire her optimism. Anyway, the wedding went on smoothly.

- Trecking home -

- How I feel after walking through a foot of snow in a dress -

Two life-threatening car rides later and a half-night’s sleep on a couch and I was back home to the gorgeous site of fallen trees and branches, broken power lines and a house with no electricity or heat. So, excuse me for being a Deb. but I am not feeling very Halloweenie on this Halloween. I have been deprived of a shower and proper use of my costume.

- Main Street Danbury (News Times) -

My idea was to share some fun Halloween costumes from my Catholic school days, but seeing as I could not feel my toes last night let alone search through photo albums and scan pictures, that plan has been foiled.

Instead I did this with my sister:

20111031-123338.jpg

- The sis. making a little garage barbeque hot chocolate -

3 thoughts on “(Not) Feeling Halloweenie (part 4)

  1. Pingback: Happy winter (or let’s just not do that this year?) « Mid-day Margarita

  2. Pingback: Feeling Halloweenie? (part 5) « Mid-day Margarita

Leave a Reply

