Feeling Halloweenie (part 1)

- WHY didn't I buy this (wtfcostumes.com) -

I pride myself on two things when it comes to Halloween: my sweet homemade costumes and the fact that I got the “it’s okay to be slutty on Halloween” memo when I was 7-years-old. No spooky costumes for me – it’s been she-devils and go-go dancers since the second grade. I did it tastefully of course, rocking the turtleneck under the hot witch costume (thanks, mom).

Anyway, if you take Halloween seriously, you’ve been planning your costume for months already. If you don’t take Halloween seriously and/or you have a life, you may still be in need of inspiration. So, I’ve decided to share some of my top costumes of Halloweens past – and don’t worry, I’ll throw in some of my best un-PC childhood costumes. I think 5th grade’s Hindu ensemble may take the cake in that category.

I’ll start with one of my all-time favorites: the pumpkin. I’ve chosen this one first because it’s the most involved so you’ll need more time if you want to make it. And by “you” I mean that one rando girl who subscribes to my blog and all of you hundreds of people who find my page by searching “Stouffer’s Mac and Cheese;” I don’t understand why that’s such a popular search (is it you, Alyssa?)

I wore this costume on two different Halloweens (I know, faux pas) because A.) I didn’t feel like making one last year and B.) it’s super cute, and I totes could have passed the head piece off as a fascinator at the Royal Wedding.

What you need –

Outfit:

  • Green Tights
  • Black Shorts
  • Orange top (no I didn’t have an orange mesh top left over from last week’s rave; I chose it because the holes kept me from getting sweaty and nasty – think about it.)
  • Black heels or boots
  • Black Felt

Head Piece:

  • Head band
  • Orange felt
  • Green pipe cleaners
  • Green Ribbon
  • Hot glue gun
  • A hidden talent for arts and crafts

Here’s the part where I’m just going to assume that anyone actually contemplating ripping off my idea is smart enough to figure it out by looking at the pictures because I don’t feel like going through all the steps. BUT I’ll give you one hint for the head piece: cut out two identical pumpkin top shapes out of the orange felt. Put some pipe cleaner in between them so that it’s moldable and glue around the edges. Other than that – just cut and paste things onto the appropriate places and voila!

3 thoughts on “Feeling Halloweenie (part 1)

  1. Pingback: Feeling Halloweenie (part 3) « Mid-day Margarita

Leave a Reply

