Happy first day of Fall (not)

So it’s officially Fall – bring on the pasty skin and seasonal depression. It’s just that I love summer so much, that Fall doesn’t even have a chance. But to keep myself from falling into Autumnal misery, I am going to cheer myself up by talking about some of the good parts of Fall.

1. Taking walks in cemeteries: You may find this morbid, but I’m not talking about going to the graveyard at midnight on Halloween. On really nice Fall days I like to take walks, and I have found that certain cemeteries are the perfect spot. There aren’t many (live) people around, and they are usually full of little trails. Also, I think it’s a nice thing to do. These poor dead people get visited once or twice a year by their families; other than that, no one wants to go near them because they’re dead and creepy. Well guess what, we are all going to be dead and creepy one day, so wouldn’t you like a little company once in a while? Besides, it’s not creepy during the day – it’s peaceful and you actually feel like you have company. So, get over it and go visit a graveyard – it’s pretty, some of the head stones are cool, and it’s way less crowded than the park. See:

2. Apple picking: This is pretty much the same idea as the cemetery. I don’t really care about picking or eating apples, but I like to walk through the orchard. I also like the apple cider donuts they sell because I’m a fatty at heart.

- My sister is so artsy -

3. UConn Football Games: Just like I don’t care about apples, I don’t care about football. But I do enjoy a good tailgate on a nice day and day drinking with my Uconn buds!

4. Trips to the City: Fall is actually my favorite time to go into New York because the seasons are basically twice as intense in the city. When it’s hot it’s HOT and when it’s cold, you want to die (why do I want to move there again?). Anyway, the temperature in the Fall is perfect for going into NYC.

And that is my attempt at consoling myself while I mourn the end of summer.

Leave a Reply

