Swing Therapy

Let’s get a little inspirational for a minute (I know, vom). Last summer my sister and I were super bored and super broke since I was unemployed and she was 15 at the time, so we decided to go to the playground and “play outside” – haven’t heard that in a while.

Anyway, one day this past winter I was having a really bad day. I was sad and depressed (for reasons I won’t go in to) and my parents were driving me crazy (I won’t go into the joys of living at home either) so I decided to escape to the playground again. Being early March, and therefore freezing, the place was empty. I got on a swing and just kept going as high as I could – you know so high that the chains un-tense and you drop a little and the back of your head touches the leaves. I would have been the envy of any third grader that day.

I have never felt more instant relief in my life. I still can’t think of a better feeling than flying through the cold air all by myself that day. So now I try and make it a habit of going to the playground every once in a while for some swing-therapy.

Little kids know where it’s at – there’s a reason they’re so happy.

Leave a Reply

