10th Anniversary of 9-11

- Smoke pours from the former site of the World Trade Center in Manhattan September 12, 2001 from a vantage point in Hoboken, N.J. Smoke filled the air all over lower Manhattan in the aftermath of the terrorist attack and destruction of the World Trade Center. Photo: Getty Images, Chris Hondros / Getty Images North America -

This Sunday marks 10 whole years since the attacks on September 11, 2001, and I can’t believe it’s been that long. I was sitting in my eighth-grade classroom in my Catholic-school uniform eating cake for my teacher’s birthday when they wheeled in a TV and turned on the news. They told us about the attacks on the Pentagon, but not on the World Trade Center because they didn’t want to scare us since we were so close to New York City. I didn’t really understand what was going on, but I knew it was big because not only did I get the day off of school, but my dad got off of work. Anyway, since I do live and work so close to the city, a lot of people around me have a personal connection to 9-11, whether they knew someone involved or they saw the smoke rising from Greenwich Point.

Greenwich Time: 9/11 Ten Years Later

New York Times: Where I Was

Leave a Reply

