She loves long walks on the beach, world peace, gay people and Charles Darwin

I did not watch the Miss USA pageant, although I did catch the new Miss USA, Alyssa Campanella’s, appearance on Watch What Happens Live with Andy after Housewives of New Jersey. But I did a little light reading on he beauty queen since it is our duty as citizens to educate ourselves on our country’s leaders….

- Alyssa Campanella, Miss USA 2011 -

Anyway, it turns out that the former Miss California was one of only two contestants along with Miss Massachusetts to 100% support teaching evolution in schools (what’s going on with you, Miss CT?). In a preliminary questionnaire many of the contestants struggled with the question of “should evolution be taught in schools?” Most of them went with “yes but so should creationism,” and Miss Kentucky, Miss Alaska and Miss Alabama just flat out said “no.” – USA Today

I knew that it was a controversial subject in the Bible belt states, but I would never in a million years have guessed that out of 51 women, only two would support the theory of evolution – granted, beauty pageant contestants tend to be politically conservative. But it still seems a little “stone age” to me.

So, I did some further research and it turns out anti-Darwinist sentiments are way more common than I thought. I guess I’ve been living in a liberal bubble here in Connecticut. I mean, I went to a Catholic middle school and they still taught us the theory of evolution!

(Click HERE to see NPR’s list of state-by-state policies on teaching evolution.)

Well at least the Miss USA judges picked a girl with half a brain. Yes, this is a predominantly Christian nation and I don’t go as far as supporting taking the word “God” out of the pledge of allegiance, but to teach the Bible and nothing but the Bible in public schools? I don’t see how anyone could justify that – tiara or no tiara.

Our new reigning queen also told Andy Cohen that she supports gay marriage – although she may or may not have answered truthfully and I wouldn’t even blame her if she lied because it would have been super awkward if she had said “no.”

One thought on “She loves long walks on the beach, world peace, gay people and Charles Darwin

  1. Pingback: Congratulations, Gays of New York! « Mid-day Margarita

Leave a Reply

